Comparison · live data
WARDOGS vs Battlefield 6: price, players, monetisation, mode and platform — compared from the two Steam listings, with both player counts live
WARDOGS vs Battlefield 6 is the comparison the press made on day one — PCGamesN called WARDOGS a 'Battlefield challenger' — and the two games are aimed at the same player: someone who wants a hundred people, vehicles and collapsing buildings. They are not the same product. One is a $39.99 Early Access game from a Derby studio with one mode and a promise of no battle pass; the other is a $69.99 release from a major publisher with a season pass listed on the same store page. The table above shows both player counts from the Steam API right now, refreshed every ten minutes, so the 'is anyone playing' part of the question answers itself.
Everything below is from the two Steam listings (read 14 September 2026), BULKHEAD's Steam posts, and named press; where Battlefield 6's listing does not state something — its per-match player count, for instance — this page says so rather than filling it in from memory.
| Game | Playing now (Steam) | Price (US) | Released | Players per match |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WARDOGS | 52,125 | $39.99 | 10 Sep 2026 (Early Access) | 100 across 3 teams |
| Battlefield 6 | 17,209 | $69.99 | 10 Oct 2025 | not stated on the Steam listing |
| Squad | 6,922 | $39.99 | 23 Sep 2020 | 100 (Steam listing) |
| Arma Reforger | 4,784 | $39.99 | 16 Nov 2023 | not stated on the Steam listing |
| Hell Let Loose | 1,324 | $49.99 | 27 Jul 2021 | 100 (Steam listing) |
The two listings, side by side
WARDOGS: 'a TACTICAL ALL OUT WARFARE FPS where one hundred players split across three teams fight over the control zone', $39.99, Steam Early Access since 10 September 2026, developer BULKHEAD, publisher Team17, Windows only, one DLC (the $12.99 Supporter Pack). Battlefield 6: 'The ultimate all-out warfare experience. In a war of tanks, fighter jets, and massive combat arsenals, your squad is the deadliest weapon', $69.99, released on Steam 10 October 2025, with paid season content listed alongside it ('Season 4 Battlefield Pro – Battlefield 6 and REDSEC', $24.99, plus starter and advanced packs). Both listings use the phrase 'all-out warfare'; BULKHEAD's is a deliberate echo.
The recommendation counts give a sense of scale: Battlefield 6 had 294,838 Steam recommendations on 14 September; WARDOGS, four days old, had 45,958 reviews at 79.6% positive ('Mostly Positive').
Steam's feature badges add two sourced contrasts: Battlefield 6 carries 'Full controller support', 'Cross-Platform Multiplayer' and 'In-App Purchases'; WARDOGS carries none of the three on 14 September — its controller support is discussed in BULKHEAD's devlogs but not certified, it is PC-only, and it has no in-app purchases beyond the Supporter Pack DLC.
| WARDOGS | Battlefield 6 | |
|---|---|---|
| Price (US) | $39.99 (planned rise to $49.99, then $59.99 by 1.0) | $69.99 |
| Status | Early Access since 10 Sep 2026 | Released 10 Oct 2025 |
| Developer / publisher | BULKHEAD / Team17 | listed publisher: Electronic Arts |
| Players per match | 100 across 3 teams | not stated on the Steam listing |
| Modes | One: King of the Hill on a randomised 2 × 2 km Control Zone | multiple (listing names REDSEC alongside the base game) |
| Monetisation | No battle pass; no paid cash, gold or camos; one $12.99 cosmetic pack | Paid season content ($24.99 'Season 4 Battlefield Pro' listed) |
| Platforms | Windows PC; consoles in 2028 | PC on Steam; other platforms not covered by this page |
| Controller / cross-platform (Steam badges) | No controller badge; no cross-platform badge | 'Full controller support', 'Cross-Platform Multiplayer', 'In-App Purchases' |
| Map | 256 km² region, three maps at launch (PCGamesN) | not stated on the Steam listing |
| Destruction | Yes — 'Destroy apartment blocks with rocket launchers' | Yes — 'a war of tanks, fighter jets…' with destruction in the listing's media |
| Anti-cheat | Elytra (kernel-level, 3rd-party EULA) | listing's own disclosure applies |
Where the money goes: cash economy vs season pass
This is the real fork. WARDOGS runs on an in-match economy: $10,000 to start, a loadout bought each life, cash earned by revives, transport, spotting, kills and holding the zone, persisting between matches, convertible to Gold Bars for cosmetics. BULKHEAD's three rules — no monetisation during Early Access beyond the Supporter Pack, never sell cash or gold, never sell camos directly — and its February line 'No Battlepass. No Pay to Win. No Nikki Minaj Skins.' are the opposite of a live-service model. Battlefield 6's Steam page lists a $24.99 season pack in its fourth season; that is a different business, and a different relationship between time and reward.
Which is better depends on what you resent. WARDOGS makes dying expensive and rewards logistics with cash; a bad night costs you a helicopter. Battlefield's progression is time-based unlocks; a bad night costs you nothing but XP. PC Gamer's Morgan Park on WARDOGS: 'Bribing medics to revive me first in Wardogs is one of my favorite shooter mechanics in ages' — a sentence that could not be written about Battlefield.
Mode: one zone, three teams, versus a roster
WARDOGS has one mode. Three teams (Valkyra, Lonestar, Manticore) fight for a 2 × 2 km Control Zone placed at random in a 256 km² map; the team with the most players inside scores; first to 100 points wins; a smaller Hot Zone doubles both head count and cash; towers and fuelled drills can pull it. Matches run at least an hour (the 'CZ Survivor' achievement needs 60 minutes in the zone). BULKHEAD says more objective variations are planned by 1.0. Battlefield 6's listing presents multiple modes and the REDSEC content; the per-mode player counts are not on the Steam page and this site does not import them from elsewhere.
The three-team design is the least Battlefield-like thing about WARDOGS: with two enemies, the leader gets ganged up on, and the 'Clean Sweep' achievement (win without another team scoring) sat at 0.6% of players three days in.

Roles: player-defined vs class-defined
WARDOGS has no class select; the wiki's line is that 'players define their role through the equipment and items they purchase for their loadout', with six XP tracks (Career, Medic, Support, Recon, Pilot, Driver). A player can carry a defibrillator, a hammer and a scope in one life if they can pay for it. Battlefield's tradition is a class system; the Steam listing does not describe it, so we leave the detail to its own documentation. The practical difference for a switcher is that in WARDOGS the question 'what class should I play' has no answer, and the question 'what can I afford this life' always does.
Vehicles, building, destruction
Both listings promise tanks and helicopters; Battlefield 6's adds 'fighter jets', which WARDOGS lists as a planned addition in its Early Access Q&A rather than a launch feature. WARDOGS counters with construction: Forward Operating Bases with mortars, Talon anti-air, CIWS, Switchblade launchers, repair and refuel bays and drill rigs (wiki), fed by building, ammo and fuel supplies that players buy and transport. PCGamesN counts 27 WARDOGS vehicles at launch with published Season 1 prices for a dozen of them — an armed Little Bird is $50,000, an Artillery Tank $500,000 at Career level 90. Vehicles in WARDOGS are purchases that can be lost; that is the whole difference in how they get used.
Scale and launch
WARDOGS' launch numbers are public: 1.25 million copies by BULKHEAD's post at 01:05 UTC on 11 September, 1.5 million per PCGamesN a day later, a 400,196 concurrent peak on 12 September (SteamDB), and a launch queue that needed a forced-restart hotfix. Battlefield 6's launch was eleven months earlier and its Steam listing shows 294,838 recommendations; its peak is not something this page states without a source. The live table is the fair comparison today: two numbers from the same API at the same minute.
For the 'is it dying' searches both games attract, the honest measure is the week-over-week daily peak, not a single read; WARDOGS' player-count page explains what Steam's number includes (queues and menus) and excludes.

Anti-cheat and the kernel
Both games run kernel-level anti-cheat; WARDOGS' is disclosed on Steam as Elytra with a third-party EULA, and BULKHEAD's enforcement policy describes it 'monitoring applications running on your machine during gameplay' and 'validating that the game and your hardware haven't been tampered with'. A Steam forum thread from 4 September documents the failure mode — 'The anti-cheat service refused the game executable' — with player fixes (remove conflicting anti-cheat software, delete the Elytra and AppData folders, verify files). Battlefield 6's Steam page carries its own disclosure; this site does not restate it. The practical point for a switcher is that neither game will run on Linux or the Steam Deck without the vendor's cooperation, and BULKHEAD has said it is still working on Proton.
Platforms and requirements
WARDOGS is Windows-only on Steam until 'PlayStation 5 and XBOX platforms in 2028' (BULKHEAD CEO Joe Brammer via Insider Gaming), with Linux and Steam Deck unsupported while Proton compatibility is worked on, and a kernel-level anti-cheat (Elytra) with a third-party EULA disclosed on the store. Its minimum is a GTX 1660 / RX 590 with 16 GB RAM for 1080p Low at 60 fps upscaled; recommended an RTX 3070 / RX 6700 XT for 1440p Medium at 70 fps or more. Battlefield 6's listing carries its own requirements; this page does not restate them.
Which one, for whom
WARDOGS if: you want a persistent economy where logistics pays, a single long match with a moving objective, three-way fights, base building, and a studio that has published its prices and XP curve and promised no battle pass — and you accept Early Access, one mode, no jets yet, and a 16 GB RAM floor. Battlefield 6 if: you want a finished, multi-mode, jets-included shooter with a large established population and do not mind $69.99 plus season content. Both, if the live table shows both healthy and you have the disk space — WARDOGS is 50 GB.
BULKHEAD's own advice covers the risk on its side: watch '10 Reasons NOT to Buy WARDOGS', then refund within two hours if it is not for you.
Questions people ask
- Is WARDOGS like Battlefield?
- It borrows the 'all-out warfare' scale and vehicles but runs one three-team King of the Hill mode on a persistent cash economy; BULKHEAD describes its lineage as the Arma 3 King of the Hill mod, not Battlefield.
- Which is cheaper?
- WARDOGS at $39.99 (Early Access) versus Battlefield 6 at $69.99 on Steam, read 14 September 2026.
- Does WARDOGS have a battle pass like Battlefield?
- No. BULKHEAD: 'No Battlepass. No Pay to Win.' Battlefield 6's Steam page lists paid season content.
- Which has more players right now?
- The table at the top of this page shows both from the Steam API, refreshed every ten minutes.
- Does WARDOGS have jets?
- Not yet; fighter jets are listed as planned in the Steam Early Access Q&A.
- Is WARDOGS on console like Battlefield 6?
- No — Windows PC only until 2028.
- How many players per match?
- WARDOGS: 100 across three teams. Battlefield 6's Steam listing does not state a figure, so this page does not give one.
Sources & further reading
- Steam store — WARDOGS (app 1867240), read 14 Sep 2026
- Steam store — Battlefield 6 (app 2807960) and its Season 4 packs, read 14 Sep 2026
- Steam Web API — GetNumberOfCurrentPlayers (live, both apps)
- BULKHEAD — TOP QUESTIONS: mode, monetisation (Steam, 18 Feb 2026)
- BULKHEAD — PRE-ORDER NOW! / monetisation rules (Steam, 11 Aug 2026)
- PCGamesN — Battlefield challenger Wardogs rebalances progression (10 Sep 2026)
- PC Gamer — How to make money fast in Wardogs (Morgan Park, 9 Sep 2026)
- Insider Gaming — WARDOGS coming to console in 2028 (Grant Taylor-Hill, 10 Sep 2026)
- WARDOGS Wiki — Game Mechanics (CC BY-SA), read 14 Sep 2026
- Steam — WARDOGS achievements and global unlock rates, read 13 Sep 2026
Read next
- WARDOGS early access
WARDOGS early access explained from the Steam Q&A and BULKHEAD's posts: fully playable now, 1–2 years planned, price to rise from $39.99 toward $59.99, jets and a seasonal metagame coming, no battle pass ever, consoles in 2028, no Linux yet. Hub for the release date, price, system requirements, console, crashing and servers pages.
- WARDOGS price
WARDOGS price on Steam: $39.99 (£36.99) in Early Access, the $12.99 Supporter Pack and $49.99 Supporter Edition, BULKHEAD's plan to raise the price to $49.99 and $59.99 by 1.0, the three monetisation promises (no cash, no gold, no camos for money), Family Sharing, the refund stance, and whether it is worth it by the published numbers.
- How to play WARDOGS
How to play WARDOGS from the tutorial to your first paid loadout: what the three teams and the Control Zone mean, what to buy with $10,000, the free rifle, why the Hot Zone pays double, and the mistakes that empty a new account — all sourced to BULKHEAD's posts, the Steam store and the wiki.
- WARDOGS money
WARDOGS money explained from the sources: the paid actions on the wiki, PCGamesN's six earning methods (zone time, building, taxi, mobile spawn, supply crates, looting), the Hot Zone double-cash rule, every Season 1 price change charted, the 5% community-server bonus, and BULKHEAD's ban policy for cash exploits.
Part of the Early Access hub. Back to the WARDOGS Playbook home page.

Sukie · Editor
Sukie runs WARDOGS Playbook. She edits every page on the site, checks each figure against BULKHEAD's Steam posts, the store listing and the sources named on the page before it goes up, and rewrites anything a patch note contradicts. The focus is narrow on purpose: what the game actually does, with the source attached.
About this site · How pages are checked · Last updated September 13, 2026
WARDOGS Playbook is an unofficial fan site. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or associated with BULKHEAD Limited (developer) and Team17 (publisher). Game names, images and trademarks belong to their owners.