Comparison · live data
WARDOGS vs Squad (and Arma Reforger, Hell Let Loose): the same 100-player idea with a cash economy bolted on — compared from the Steam listings, both counts live
WARDOGS vs Squad is the comparison players who already own a milsim make, and it is the fairer one: both are $39.99 on Steam, both put a hundred players on large maps with vehicles, logistics and base building, and both sell themselves on teamwork over twitch. The difference is that WARDOGS bolts a persistent cash economy onto that formula and splits the hundred into three teams instead of two — and that it is four days into Early Access while Squad has six years of updates behind it. Arma Reforger and Hell Let Loose sit in the same aisle and are in the live table above so you can see all four populations at once.
Facts are from the four Steam listings (read 14 September 2026), BULKHEAD's posts and named press. Where a listing does not state something, this page says 'not stated' rather than guessing.
| Game | Playing now (Steam) | Price (US) | Released | Players per match |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WARDOGS | 52,125 | $39.99 | 10 Sep 2026 (Early Access) | 100 across 3 teams |
| Squad | 7,064 | $39.99 | 23 Sep 2020 | 100 (Steam listing) |
| Arma Reforger | 4,844 | $39.99 | 16 Nov 2023 | not stated on the Steam listing |
| Hell Let Loose | 1,340 | $49.99 | 27 Jul 2021 | 100 (Steam listing) |
| Battlefield 6 | 17,230 | $69.99 | 10 Oct 2025 | not stated on the Steam listing |
Four listings in one table
Squad: 'a tactical FPS that provides authentic combat experiences through teamwork, communication, and realistic combat. It bridges the gap between arcade shooter and military realism with 100-player battles, combined-arms warfare, and base building', $39.99, released 23 September 2020, 180,421 Steam recommendations. Arma Reforger: 'Engage in massive combined arms battles, create and curate combat missions in real time, and shape your experience with endless community mods. Deploy into the Cold War', $39.99, released 16 November 2023, 51,510 recommendations. Hell Let Loose: 'a hardcore World War Two first person shooter with epic battles of 100 players with infantry, tanks, artillery, a dynamically shifting front line and a unique resource-based strategic meta-game', $49.99, released 27 July 2021, 99,608 recommendations. WARDOGS: 'one hundred players split across three teams fight over the control zone', $39.99, Early Access since 10 September 2026, 45,958 reviews at 79.6% positive.
| WARDOGS | Squad | Arma Reforger | Hell Let Loose | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (US) | $39.99 | $39.99 | $39.99 | $49.99 |
| Released | 10 Sep 2026 (EA) | 23 Sep 2020 | 16 Nov 2023 | 27 Jul 2021 |
| Players per match (listing) | 100, 3 teams | 100 | not stated | 100 |
| Setting | Fictional Kolchia, modern | Modern | Cold War | WW2 |
| Economy | Persistent cash, loadout bought per life | not stated | not stated | 'resource-based strategic meta-game' |
| Building | FOBs, mortars, AA, drills | 'base building' | not stated | not stated |
| Mods | Not stated | not stated | 'endless community mods' | not stated |
| Steam recommendations | 45,958 reviews (79.6%) | 180,421 | 51,510 | 99,608 |
| Steam badges | no controller / cross-platform badge | — | 'Full controller support', 'Cross-Platform Multiplayer', Co-op | — |
The ancestor both share: Arma 3 King of the Hill
BULKHEAD is explicit about where WARDOGS comes from. Its 19 February 2026 post: 'Our Design Team has spent years collaborating directly with the original ARMA mod creators. Developing a standalone KOTH-inspired FPS that can surpass the original mod's limitations.' King of the Hill on Arma 3 was three factions fighting over one town with a cash economy for buying gear and vehicles — which is WARDOGS' entire mode. Squad descends from a different mod (Project Reality for Battlefield 2) and keeps two factions, tickets and a front of flags; Arma Reforger is Bohemia's own platform for the kind of scenarios KOTH ran on. So 'WARDOGS vs Squad' is really 'KOTH's descendant vs Project Reality's descendant': same scale, different objective logic.
Squad's listing calls itself the bridge 'between arcade shooter and military realism'; BULKHEAD's phrase is 'a hardcore shooter that doesn't forget it's a game'. Both are saying they are less punishing than Arma.
Objective: one moving zone vs a front of flags
WARDOGS: one 2 × 2 km Control Zone, placed at random in a 256 km² region, held by head count, first team to 100 points; a Hot Zone inside it doubling count and cash; towers whose four-part code activates a fuelled drill that pulls the Hot Zone (PCGamesN; community guide). Three teams means the leader always has two enemies. Squad's listing describes 'combined-arms warfare and base building' without detailing its objective system on the store page; Hell Let Loose's describes 'a dynamically shifting front line'. The practical contrast: WARDOGS concentrates a hundred players on four square kilometres with a long drive to reach them; front-line games spread them along a line.
Match length is comparable in kind — WARDOGS' 'CZ Survivor' achievement requires 60 minutes in the zone without dying, so matches run an hour or more.

Money: the thing WARDOGS adds
In Squad, gear comes from kit roles at no cost; in WARDOGS every life is a purchase from a persistent bank that starts at $10,000, and the wiki lists what refills it: reviving, transporting, killing, spotting, holding the objective. The Season 1 changelog published the prices that matter — FOB $7,500, Large Hammer $2,400 from the vendor, armed Little Bird $50,000, Artillery Tank $500,000 at Career 90 — and beta-era press put beta figures on the earnings (PC Gamer: $900 per revive, $1,200–$1,500 per completed build, $75 binoculars; Dexerto: $450 per helicopter drop-off). BULKHEAD has promised never to sell that cash for money.
The consequence Squad players notice first is that WARDOGS pays logistics directly: a supply pilot is paid when teammates buy from the crate, a taxi driver is paid on drop-off and tipped, a mobile-spawn driver earns per spawn. Squad's logistics are cooperative duty; WARDOGS' are a job with a wage.
PC Gamer's Morgan Park, who played the closed betas, summarised the appeal in a line Squad players will recognise as the other side of the coin: 'Bribing medics to revive me first in Wardogs is one of my favorite shooter mechanics in ages.'
Building and logistics
Both WARDOGS and Squad list base building. WARDOGS' version is documented in more detail than Squad's store page gives: a $7,500 FOB kit that sets a building radius and can be hacked if reached (community builders' guide), three supply types — building, ammo, fuel — bought at the spawn base and moved by players, and a defence list of sandbags, mortars, Talon anti-air, CIWS, Switchblade launchers, repair and refuel bays and drill rigs (wiki). Mortars need a Large Hammer at Support level 8 and are aimed by heading and range with no overlay (PCGamesN), and a community guide gives the exact-range formula from map coordinates. Hell Let Loose's 'resource-based strategic meta-game' is the closest analogue among the four.
Communication: proximity voice in both, plus squads without a cap
Squad's whole name is its communication model — squad and command channels — and its listing leads with 'teamwork, communication'. WARDOGS has proximity voice always on plus a separate squad channel, and BULKHEAD's answer to squad size was 'Unlimited! No friend is left behind. Squadding up provides additional UI, communication tools, and vehicle locking.' The Season 1 changelog fixed voice 'cutting out permanently after a failed join' and added 'a visible communication status'; a trending community guide covers low microphone volume. If you come from Squad expecting a squad-leader hierarchy with kit control, WARDOGS does not have one — loadouts are individual purchases and leadership is whatever the voice channel agrees on.
Maturity: six years vs four days
Squad has been released since 2020, Hell Let Loose since 2021, Arma Reforger since 2023; WARDOGS is in an Early Access that BULKHEAD expects to last 'around 1 to 2 years', with one mode, three maps, 37 weapons and 27 vehicles (PCGamesN), no jets yet, no Linux support, and a launch that needed a forced-restart hotfix on day one. Its counterweights are the launch numbers — 1.25 million copies in 15 hours, a 400,196 concurrent peak on 12 September — and a changelog culture that publishes every price and XP band. The live table shows whether the population has stayed; the player-count page explains how to read it.

Anti-cheat, mods, platforms
WARDOGS uses Elytra, disclosed on Steam as kernel-level with a third-party EULA; that is also why Linux and Steam Deck are unsupported for now. Arma Reforger's listing sells 'endless community mods'; WARDOGS' listing says nothing about mods, and its enforcement policy bans 'modifying, tampering with, patching or repackaging the game's files'. Community servers exist in WARDOGS through three approved hosts (QONZER, BisectHosting, xREALM) with admin bans; the Steam listings of the other three do not describe their hosting models, so this page does not compare them. Consoles: WARDOGS in 2028; the others' platforms are outside this page's sources.
Which one, for whom
Squad if you want the mature, two-faction, front-line milsim with a large population and no economy to manage. Arma Reforger if you want scenarios and mods on Bohemia's platform. Hell Let Loose if you want the Second World War. WARDOGS if you want the Arma KOTH formula finished as a product — three teams, one zone, a bank balance that makes every death cost something, logistics that pays, and a studio that has ruled out a battle pass — and you can live with Early Access. At $39.99 for three of the four, price is not the deciding factor; the live table and the two-hour refund window are.
Questions people ask
- Is WARDOGS like Squad?
- Same scale (100 players, vehicles, base building) but WARDOGS runs one three-team King of the Hill mode on a persistent cash economy, descended from the Arma 3 KOTH mod rather than Project Reality.
- Which costs more?
- WARDOGS, Squad and Arma Reforger are all $39.99 on Steam; Hell Let Loose is $49.99 (read 14 September 2026).
- Which has more players?
- See the live table at the top — all four counts come from the Steam API and refresh every ten minutes.
- Does WARDOGS have mods like Arma Reforger?
- Nothing in the Steam listing or BULKHEAD's posts mentions mods, and the enforcement policy bans modifying game files.
- Is WARDOGS more casual than Squad?
- BULKHEAD calls it 'a hardcore shooter that doesn't forget it's a game'; Squad's listing calls itself a bridge between arcade and realism. Neither is Arma-level simulation.
- Does WARDOGS have a front line?
- No — one Control Zone held by head count, with a Hot Zone inside it that towers and drills can move.
- Which is more finished?
- Squad (2020), Hell Let Loose (2021) and Arma Reforger (2023) are released; WARDOGS is in Early Access expected to last one to two years.
Sources & further reading
- Steam store — Squad (app 393380), read 14 Sep 2026
- Steam store — Arma Reforger (app 1874880), read 14 Sep 2026
- Steam store — Hell Let Loose (app 686810), read 14 Sep 2026
- Steam store — WARDOGS (app 1867240), read 14 Sep 2026
- Steam Web API — GetNumberOfCurrentPlayers (live, all four apps)
- BULKHEAD — Evolving the King of the Hill Mod! (Steam, 19 Feb 2026)
- BULKHEAD — Pre-Load Live & Season 1 Changelog (Steam, 9 Sep 2026)
- PCGamesN — Wardogs rebalances progression for launch (10 Sep 2026)
- PC Gamer — How to make money fast in Wardogs (Morgan Park, 9 Sep 2026)
- WARDOGS Wiki — Game Mechanics (CC BY-SA), read 14 Sep 2026
- wardogs.com — Security and Enforcement (updated 7 Sep 2026)
Read next
- WARDOGS early access
WARDOGS early access explained from the Steam Q&A and BULKHEAD's posts: fully playable now, 1–2 years planned, price to rise from $39.99 toward $59.99, jets and a seasonal metagame coming, no battle pass ever, consoles in 2028, no Linux yet. Hub for the release date, price, system requirements, console, crashing and servers pages.
- WARDOGS money
WARDOGS money explained from the sources: the paid actions on the wiki, PCGamesN's six earning methods (zone time, building, taxi, mobile spawn, supply crates, looting), the Hot Zone double-cash rule, every Season 1 price change charted, the 5% community-server bonus, and BULKHEAD's ban policy for cash exploits.
- WARDOGS FOB
WARDOGS FOB guide from the sources: the Forward Operating Base is $7,500 after Season 1 (was $2,500), holds mortars, Talon anti-air, CIWS, Switchblade launchers, repair and refuel bays and drill rigs, and runs on building, ammo and fuel supplies. Hammers, placement near towers and the Hot Zone, and how building pays Support XP and cash.
- WARDOGS towers
WARDOGS towers explained: where the control-room terminal is, why every tower starts a match on cooldown, how each capture gives one part of a four-digit code, and how the full code on the keypad pulls the Hot Zone to your tower. Plus how towers anchor FOBs and drills. Sourced to PCGamesN's 11 September guide and the official wiki.
Part of the Early Access hub. Back to the WARDOGS Playbook home page.

Sukie · Editor
Sukie runs WARDOGS Playbook. She edits every page on the site, checks each figure against BULKHEAD's Steam posts, the store listing and the sources named on the page before it goes up, and rewrites anything a patch note contradicts. The focus is narrow on purpose: what the game actually does, with the source attached.
About this site · How pages are checked · Last updated September 13, 2026
WARDOGS Playbook is an unofficial fan site. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or associated with BULKHEAD Limited (developer) and Team17 (publisher). Game names, images and trademarks belong to their owners.